Skip to content

A recently discovered poem that I wrote in 9th grade

May 15, 2011

Thirteen

At thirteen I lived for my friends
Dawson’s Creek
and playing “The Sims”
on the computer
Those were my life
simply all I knew

I lived for the Spice Girls
and learned the words to all of their songs
and I felt like a true teenager

I lived for my best friends
at school
and staying up until 1:00AM during sleepovers
which was so late
I lived fora year when
I didn’t know stress
school was fun, and
I lived for life

I lived for popcorn at the movies
and “going out” with boys

I lived to be in eighth grade
and all too soon, ninth

I lived for a sense of safety and comfort
that before I knew it, was gone

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

