Skip to content

Dream-cheating

January 20, 2012

Had one of those dreams again last night. In which I wake up, panicked. Because I dream-cheated on him. It’s a recurring theme of my dreams, though the dreams themselves vary. But the themes are always the same. I dream-cheat. I date someone else on the side, I have an affair, I question if I want to be with him.

And then I wake up and I hate myself for it.

And while I can remind myself that it’s very likely OCD manifesting its spins in my dreams, there’s that little part of me that wonders…are those dreams me? Am I a cheater? Will I cheat? Do I love him?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 8:14 pm

    The exact same thing happens to me. In fact this is what I am struggling with most lately – OCD in my dreams. It is sooo hard for me to not wake up and compulsively check and analyze, question etc the dream Of course we know how futile that is – how impossible it is to remember ANY dream completely. It sets of a full OCD episode though. Hang in there.

  2. Odd One permalink
    February 5, 2012 1:53 pm

    I have also been dealing with this exact same thing! I’ve been told by psychiatrists in the past that this is a common side-effect of any SRI (seritonine reuptake inhibitor), though I’m sure it happens to those who aren’t taking one, as well. Basically, the SRI subdues your conscious thoughts during the day, but your brain gets free reign at night. I also try to just remember that my daily loving actions towards my wife count for much more than any dream, even if it doesn’t always feel that way. However, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

